Emily Stone, PhD, LMFT-S

Emily Stone, PhD, LMFT-S

Counselor: Adults, Teens, Couples

Emily Stone is a licensed marriage and family therapist with over 20 years of experience working with adults, couples, families, children, and adolescents. She started her work as a therapist in California where she received her Master of Arts in Marriage, Family, and Child Counseling after first finishing a Master of Divinity. After some time living abroad she settled in her home state where she ran her own private practice while completing her PhD in Child and Family Studies at the University of Tennessee. She has extensive experience through practice, training, and research in the areas of life transitions, depression, anxiety, anger, infidelity, couples work, trauma, spirituality, sexuality, parenting, grief, issues of diversity, sports psychology, and LGBTQIA related issues. She also has a special love for working with therapists and pastors as clients because healers need healing spaces, too. Her reputation as a therapist, supervisor and professor is one of being open, courageous in dialogue, curious, and respectful of each individual.

Professional Info

  • What is your educational background?

    BA Psychology (Lee University), Masters of Divinity (Pentecostal Theological Seminary), MA in Marriage, Family, and Child Counseling (Fresno Pacific University), PhD Child and Family Studies (University of Tennessee), Postgraduate work in Clinical Psychology (Capella University)

  • How long have you been doing counseling?

    17 years

  • What do you love most about what you do?

    The healing space that is generated between therapist and client. It is one of the greatest honors of my life to be a witness to the journey. The power of the work that happens in the therapeutic process never ceases to amaze me.

  • What previous jobs have you held?

    Psychiatric Case Manager, Substance Abuse Counselor, Full Time Professor

Personal Info

  • Where are you from?

    I was born in South Carolina on an Air Force base where my dad was a chaplain, but moved to Southeast Tennessee close to Chattanooga when I was 2. After growing up in Tennessee I lived in California, Europe and the Carolinas before moving to Austin.

  • What made you decide to become a therapist?

    I grew up watching my dad work as a marriage and family therapist. I liked how his work fit with his life and his family schedule. I have always been very intuitive and aware of what is going on around me in terms of inter and intrapersonal dynamics. I loved learning about how people work and relate to one another. The field seemed to pull me onto its path.

  • Hobbies

    I love being outside. I enjoy walking, weight lifting, working out, writing, playing tennis, reading, traveling, trying new food and drink, engaging any sort of creative space, and going on adventure with loved ones. I also love a good day and night spent at home in comfy clothes and a good show on netflix or some other streaming site.

  • Where do you want to travel?

    I feel fortunate that I have been able to live in some of the most beautiful places. The mountains of Tennessee and the Carolinas, the diversity of California, the pristine hospitality of Germany, and the dark beauty of Prague in the Czech Republic have all left me learning to tolerate a constant sort of “homesickness” for these places and people. I have visited many places. However, I have never been to South America or Asia and I would love the chance to visit some places in these continents.

Areas of Experience

Click here to add your own text

Therapist Personality: Introvert
Therapist Personality: Extrovert
Kids
Teens
Adults
Couples
Fee (higher or lower)
Years of Experience

Ron’s Client Testimonials

Want to see our other therapists?